Cosmic is a keyword that was first introduced in the Superman, Man of Steel expansion, then further expanded in the Heralds of Galactus expansion with "Cosmic - Surge", and then again in the Legions of Superheroes expansion with an alternate use of Cosmic."Cosmic" is a keyword on character cards that represents a continuous power that functions in the in-play zone and a one-shot modifier that modifies how the character enters play. Cosmic counters have special rules that apply only to them;
- The phrase "Cosmic: <text>" means, "While this characer has no cosmic counter on it, <text> is inactive." If the character has a cosmic counter on it, <text> is active and generates powers as normal. A character can also have the cosmic keyword without having any text associated with that keyword.
- A character with cosmic enters play with a cosmic counter on it.
- As a character becomes stunned, remove all cosmic counters from it.
- A character can't have more than one cosmic counter on it at a time.
- A character that doesn't have cosmic can't have any cosmic counters put on it.
- Stunned characters can't have cosmic counters. A character that enters play stunned does not enter play with a cosmic counter.
- A character that loses cosmic without becoming stunned doesn't lose any cosmic counter already on it."Cosmic - Surge" is a keyword on character cards that represents a continuous power and also a triggered power that functions in the in-play zone. Characters with "cosmic - surge" have "cosmic" and follow all rules for characters with cosmic, except that they do not enter play with a cosmic counter.
- Characters with "cosmic - surge" have a triggered power that reads, "At the start of the recovery phse each turn, put a cosmic counter on this character."